The Fellows

Advisory Board

Cesar E.A. Virata

A former Prime Minister of the Philippines, Mr. Virata is one of the most influential technocrats in the country. He served as the Finance Minister from the 1970-1986. It was during this time that the Philippines’ economy surged to great heights. He is also the grand nephew of the First President of the Philippine Republic, Emilio Aguinaldo.

He has previously served as Governor for the Philippines to the World Bank, the Asian Development Bank and the International Fund for Agriculture Development. He is currently the Vice Chair of Rizal Commercial Banking Corporation (RCBC) and President of Bankers Association of the Philippines.

Gerardo Sicat

Dr. Sicat is a professor emeritus of the University of the Philippines. He has contributed significantly to Philippine economic development not only as a professor and researcher, but also as a cabinet member particularly the first director general of the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA).

A staunch advocate of economic freedom, he founded the Philippine Institute for Development Studies (PIDS) and helped strengthen the Philippine Social Sciences Council, the national social sciences organization.  He is also credited for making the UP School of Economics the nation’s premier school in Economics and a national resource for policy-making by creating the Philippine Center for Economic Development (PCED) as its financial arm for research and training.

fabellaRaul Fabella

Dr. Fabella is a national scientist and professor emeritus at the University of the Philippines. He obtained his Master in Economics at the UP School of Economics and his PhD at Yale University. He served as dean of the UP School of Economics from 1998 to 2007. Dr. Fabella is known for his outstanding accomplishments and remarkable contributions as a scientist, researcher, mentor, leader, collaborator and administrators in the field of economics at the University of the Philippines and throughout the country.



Thomas Allen

Mr. Allen previously served as the World Bank resident representative in Manila.




Roberto de Ocampo, Chairman

Mr. de Ocampo served as the Secretary of Finance under the Ramos Administration, and his excellent performance earned him the title of “Finance Minister of the Year” by Euromoney magazine in 1996. Prior to that, he was the chairman and CEO of the Development Bank of the Philippines which garnered the recognition of being the “world’s second soundest bank” during his term. Mr. de Ocampo was conferred the Order of the British Empire.

Romeo Bernardo, Vice Chairman

Mr. Bernardo served the government from 1990-1996 as Undersecretary of Finance for International Finance, Privatization and Treasury Operations. He is presently the President of Lazaro Bernardo Tiu & Associates, Inc., a consulting firm with work ranging from capital markets, to private-public partnership projects, to mergers and acquisition transactions. He has served as an adviser to the government and a consultant to the United Nations, World Bank and USAID on various occasions.

Calixto Chikiamco, President

Mr. Chikiamco graduated Summa cum Laude in BA Economics from De La Salle University. He also holds an Masters degree in Media Administration from Syracuse University in New York. He writes regularly for Business World on political economy under the opinion column “Introspective.”  He is  also the founder and president of MRM Studios, a mobile entertainment, digital music and e-commerce company.

Eduardo Gana, Treasurer

Mr. Gana is an investment banker and is presently a Managing Director with Smetrix Fixed Income Partners, Inc.  Before Smetrix, he served in senior positions with various international private equity and special situation funds, including funds managed by the Avenue Capital Group and AIG Global Investment Group (Asia).  He holds an MBA from The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania.

Ricardo Balatbat III, Corporate Secretary

Atty. Balatbat previously headed the Admin and Legal Group of D.M. Consunji, Inc., the largest and premier construction company in the Philippines with interest in mining, power, toll road, housing development and other infrastructure related businesses. He is a graduate of the country’s top universities, namely UP (BA), Ateneo (Law) and De La Salle University (MBA).


Board Members

Anthony Abad

Atty. Abad specializes in international trade law and provides technical advice and assistance to multinational corporations and business enterprises, and international organizations, government and academic institutions, on matters of international trade policy and regulation. He is the current CEO of TA Trade Advisory Group. He holds a master’s degree in public administration from Harvard University.

Joseph Angeles

Dr. Angeles is President of Angeles University Foundation since 2014 and a faculty of the of the UP College of Law. He is a member of the Philippine Bar and New York State Bar. He obtained his Ph.D. in Business Administration from the University of the Philippines and Masters of Law at New York University.

Arturo Corpuz

Mr. Corpuz is a recognized urban land planning expert and currently serves as Vice-President and Head of Urban and Regional Planning and land acquisition of Ayala Land. He has a PhD in Urban and Regional Planning from Cornell University.

Felipe Medalla

Dr. Medalla is currently a member of the Philippine Monetary Board. He served as Socio-Economic Planning Secretary and Director-General of NEDA from 1998-2001. He is also a significant member of the academe, having taught at the University of the Philippines School of Economics since 1976. He holds a PhD in Economics from the Northwestern University, and has specialized in public, urban and regional economics.

Vaughn Montes

Mr. Montes’ career includes 25 years in a major international bank with his last position being the Head of Public Sector Group of Citibank Philippines.He has a PhD in Business Economics from Wharton Business School, University of Pennsylvania and was named as TOYM Awardee for Economics in 1992.

Simon Paterno

Mr. Paterno previously served as the President and CEO of the Development Bank of the Philippines (DBP). He currently serves as the Executive Vice President of the Bank of the Philippine Islands (BPI). He was recognized as one of the Ten Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) for Investment Banking in 1999.

Perry Pe

Atty. Pe is a senior partner at Romulo Mabanta, dean of the Palawan Sate University School of Law, and Honorary Consul of Denmark. He leads various projects in the fields of energy, infrastructure, mining, oil and gas exploration, telecommunications, government privatization, and other private-public partnership (PPP) or build-operate-transfer (BOT) transactions.

Ma. Cecilia Soriano

Dr. Soriano has served in the Office of the Prime Minister, Department of Finance (Undersecretary, 1991-98) and Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (Trustee, 2011-16). She has also taught at the Ateneo de Manila University and served in its Board of Trustees (1998-2007).  She is an independent consultant and is currently assisting the Department of Finance in setting up the Philippine Tax Academy. She obtained her PhD in Economics from the University of California at Berkeley in 1988.




Foundation for Economic Freedom Facebook Page

No To Electricity Hike For Filipinos

Residential Free Patent Act Facebook Page